Trust

Every year I choose a new word. 

This years is going to be one of the hardest for me. As a teenager of the 90’s and growing up in the X File generation of “Trust No One”, this is a huge leap for me to take.

I am going to be more trusting of people around me, whether it be at work, in volunteering and in my church. I will not be foolish but instead of looking for the negative I will trust they have good intentions. I guess in my “old age” I am starting to have my rough edges worn away and realize that there truly are a lot of good people in the world and if they hurt you, it probably wasn’t even intentional. Yep, that is a hard pill to swallow but I am working on it. Trust me! 😉 I am working on it! 

I think too often I have leaned on my own experiences and my own thoughts  to come to conclusions where trust would be foolish. This year will be different. Proverbs 3:5-6 (NASB) “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him and he will make your paths straight.”

I mentioned my word to my boss Ellen who has taught me so much in just six months and she had it drawn for me. 


Such a simple short word but such a challenge. 


Do you have a word for the year? 

One thought on “Trust

  1. I love this! Trust is one I need to work on! I never really thought about having a word of the year, but you have inspired me! My word is “cultivate”. I want to cultivate deeper relationships with Jesus, my husband, kids & friends.

Leave a Reply

