Where To Buy Fabric…

20140130-084243.jpg

Fabric is something I love to look at even though a sewing machine scares the living daylights out of me! I have a great seamstress and an amazing upholstery dude. (thenewplace.ca) These two folks keep me from sewing myself to the fabric and create pieces of art from the fabulous fabrics that say “buy me”!

Before I purchase fabric I need to determine what needs to be accomplished. Buying drapery material is very different then upholstery materials. (at times) Once I have figured out what type of fabric and what weight is needed I then look at what colour family is going to be involved. Does the fabric need to match something else in the space? Does it need to be a show stopper or blend? What type of abuse will it take? After that is determined I then start shopping.

My first stop is always Len’s Mill in Cambridge. Another favourite is Urban Barn. Yes folks, they will order that material they carry in for you. It does come with a hefty price tag however.
Then my next favourite place in online. Www.warehousefabricinc.com
The only down side is you need to trust that what you see is what you get. ( you can order samples first tho) The choices and prices on this site are fantastic.

If you have any questions about fabric or want me to blog about another question you may have, please email me at tara@freshin.ca

Leave a Reply

