Modern Cottage

20130924-222259.jpg

I can try to deny it as much as I want but I am gaga over the modern cottage look and its cousin, rustic modern. There is something about coming home to a space that makes you feel calm even after the craziness the day has tossed at you. I think one of the best colour palettes that has emerged from the modern cottage, dare I say movement, is the warm grey paired with yellow. Two houses back I had a red brick home paired with butter yellow and white siding. I loved pulling up to it because it made me smile. I am not a person for bright colours but yellow truly is a ray of sunshine on a gloomy day. Currently my front door is yellow but part of me keeps staring at my white siding and thinks, do I dare? Probably not, but maybe grey?!

Leave a Reply

